discontinued
Please visit the library's research strategy guides and subject pages for current information.
If you have questions, please let us know!
Librarian
MLA Style Twitter Feed
About This Guide
Welcome to the
English Program Guide
This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content.
If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, contact the librarians at librarian@apus.edu
Key Resources
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO multi-disciplinary database, contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full-text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) This link opens in a new windowTo search a curated collection of books in the humanities that includes the social sciences, from the University of Michigan Publishing.
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new windowContains 250,000 poems in full-text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III Archive Collection This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary archive providing access to the full text of many important scholarly journals. NOTE: The database does not include access to the most recent journal issues.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest databases focused on Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies journal content.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary, streaming media collection for scholarly research, teaching, and learning.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIn-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Includes topic pages and mind maps to visually show relationships.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCOhost database covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing education. Includes full text.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest databases focused on Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies journal content.
- Linguistics Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database, covering a wide range of popular academic subjects. Includes more than 4,730 titles, with over 3,315 in full-text.
ENGL uses the MLA Style Guide.
The complete MLA style guide (a.k.a., the MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition) is currently only available in print format. There are no Kindle or Nook or other eBook versions at this time.
Because the official MLA style guide is not available in an institutional version from the publishers we cannot license it for student use. You are free to purchase your own copies of the complete MLA style guide directly from the Modern Language Association or from the bookseller of your choice.
Click here for information on how to access the Writing@APUS MLA webpage.
Careers in English
- Careers in EnglishFrom the office of APUS Career Services.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook | Careers for English MajorsList of occupations for English majors from the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Help Links
Writing@APUS
Writing@APUS provides resources for all aspects of the writing process, from choosing a topic to proofreading the final draft.