Skip to main content

Research Methods Information: SAGE Research Methods

A comprehensive resource for faculty and students who are teaching and conducting research.

SAGE Research Methods

What is SAGE Research Methods?


SAGE Research Methods logo banner


From the SAGE Research Methods ABOUT page:

SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Nearly everyone at a university is involved in research, from students learning how to conduct research to faculty conducting research for publication to librarians delivering research skills training and doing research on the efficacy of library services. SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each of these user groups, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.

How to Access SAGE Research Methods

All of the library's subscription databases are linked from the Articles & Databases page.


From the library's homepage, hover over Online Research.  In the menu that drops down, click Articles & Databases.

click to view larger

Articles & Databases Link


Then, to locate the SAGE Research Methods database, click the letter "S."
 


Click on the SAGE Research Methods title link.

 

SAGE Research Methods link


Begin searching using the main search box on the SRM home page!
 

SRM Home page

 

WEBINAR: Searching SAGE Research Methods


SAGE Research Methods Title Slide
 


Using Sage Research Methods (SRM)
Dr. Judith Jablonski and Erin Richter-Weikum

Presented on July 15, 2016 as part of the Graduate Studies Webinar Series.

 

 

 

      
        Covered:
  • Overview of the major changes in the SRM screen and navigation interface.
  • Creating a Profile
  • Using/Sharing Reading Lists
  • Quick Searching
  • Advanced Searching
  • Saving Searches
  • Resource Types in SRM
  • Methods Map feature

 

Project Planner | SAGE

 

SAGE Project Planner banner


The SAGE Project Planner is a tutorial tool designed to guide you through your research project

Authored by David Byrne

(The info pages are also available in PDF for download.)

Little Green Books & LIttle Blue Books


SAGE LIttle Green Books

 

The "Little Green Books" are the titles included in the SAGE Publications’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (QASS) series.The print version of the series uses green for all of the covers.

These short books address advanced quantitative topics such as Meta-Analysis, Survey Questions, Q Methodology, Experimental Design and analysis, and specific Regression Models.

 

 

APUS students and faculty have access to the complete set of Little Green Books which are located in the SAGE Research Methods tool. (Accessed via our Licensed Library Databases. Log in required.)


SAGE Little Blue Books

 

The "Little Blue Books" are the titles included in the SAGE Publications’s Qualitative Research Methods series.The print version of the series uses blue for all of the covers.

These short books address qualitative topics such as Interviews, Case Studies, Fieldwork, Ethnography, Discourse Analysis, Qualitative Data Analysis, and more.

 

 

 

APUS students and faculty have access to the complete set of Little Blue Books which are located in the SAGE Research Methods tool. (Accessed via our Licensed Library Databases. Login required.)