Open Access Resources: Open Access Resources

Need help with textbooks and required readings for your AMU/APU class?  Click here for contact information.

Digital archive and museum collections are a fantastic place to look for primary sources, whether you're doing research for a college paper or working on a geneaology project.   You can discover historical documents, newspapers, military records, letters, photographs, art, artifacts and much more.

The links below are to selected English-language archives and museums offering digital collections.   This is not a comprehensive list; if you need help finding something, please contact the librarians.

Also explore:

With CC or Transcripts:

Without CC or Transcripts:

Archives and museums are also good sources of images (from photography to digitized artifacts).

Visit Statistics@APUS for help finding data and statistics.  Be sure to explore the websites linked on the Finding Statistics by Topic page.

• American FactFinder
  A new data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information. The system will find and retrieve the information from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
   
• Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
  U.S. Department of Commerce's BEA aims to provide the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
   
• Bureau of Labor Statistics
  The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
   
• Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  Creates, manages, and shares transportation statistical knowledge with public and private transportation communities and the Nation.
   
• Census.gov
  Access data through products and tools including data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps and other software.
   
• Centers for Disease Control. Health Data
  Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
   
• Data.gov
  The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
   
• Department of Homeland Security. Immigration Data
  Their goal is to provide high-quality statistical information that is relevant, timely, cost-effective, and customer-oriented.
   
• Dept. of Veterans Affairs. Veterans Analysis & Statistics
  statistical analyses and reports on veterans.
   
• Energy Information Administration (EIA)
  The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
   
• FedStats
  A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
   
• National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
  Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Includes some time-series and international data.
   
• U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
  Their mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
   
• U.S. Statistics
  The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through over 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.
   
• United States Department of Agriculture (USDA): National Agricultural Statistical Service
  Provides statistics on U.S. agriculture.
   
• Voting and Registration Statistics
  U.S. Census. Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS).