Librarian
In Public Safety
SAGE Video
Social Network Analysis: Moraine Valley Community College
Police officer John Bertetto explains how social network analysis is helping police to understand criminal organizations and to better target individuals key to gangs or crime families. He also discusses his approach to teaching social network analysis. | Time 16:01 Transcript available.
About This Guide
Welcome to the Criminal Justice
Program Guide
This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content. If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, don't hesitate to contact the library.
Additional guides of interest :
Key Resources
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO suite database covering key journals in the field of criminology, police and policing, forensic sciences, and history of crime. Includes full-text.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes full text.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new windowSummaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection Limited full text, primarily government documents.
- International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO database cover international security and counter-terrorism, includes journals and periodicals, news feeds, reports, summaries, and books.
- National Clearinghouse for Science Technology and the Law This link opens in a new windowA Forensic Research database that includes thousands of resources about forensic science & technology, the law of scientific evidence & expert witnesses and more. find court decision & legislation, legal and scientific publications (abstracts only) news & media, webcasts and multimedia, educational opportunities.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni, LexisNexis Academic's successor, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. Legal coverage includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. News coverage includes up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Includes business dossiers on large companies.
Career Information
- APUS Office of Career ServicesResume and cover letter assistance, interviewing help and job listing links by program.
- Corrections Jobs & Correctional Officer CareersFrom CorrectionsOne
- Criminal Justice CareersA relevant, reliable and up-to-date career development and job search resource
- Discover PolicingA joint partnership between the IACP and the Bureau of Justice Assistance
- Law, Public Safety, Corrections and Security Career ClusterO-Net Online, U.S. Dept. of Labor
- Police Jobs and Law Enforcement CareersFrom PoliceOne
Help Links
Writing@APUS
Writing@APUS provides resources for all aspects of the writing process, from choosing a topic to proofreading the final draft.