Librarian
About This Guide
Welcome to the Digital Archives and Web Primary Sources Guide
This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content. If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, don't hesitate to contact the library.
The Written Word
General Digital Archives Collections
- Archive-ItThe leading web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
- The Avalon ProjectDigital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government from ancient through modern times.
- Collaborative Digital LibrariesBilingual, multimedia digital libraries, built with partners from around the world.
- Digital Public Library of America Primary Source SetsDPLA brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
- Fordham University Internet History Sourcebooks ProjectA collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use.
- Google Arts & CultureFeatures content from over 1000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online.
- Google NewspapersLarge directory of historic newspapers on the web from around the world.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryA partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAccess to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.
- NARA Online ExhibitsAccess to dozens of exhibits and hundreds of documents.
- NYPL Digital GalleryThis site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New MediaWebsite featuring multi-disciplinary online resources, collections, exhibits, and digital literacy training.
- World Digital LibraryMakes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
- World Wide Web Virtual LibraryHistorical resource catalogue and listing from the European University Institute in Florence, Italy.
Help Links
Library of Congress Blog
Loading ...
Writing@APUS
Writing@APUS provides resources for all aspects of the writing process, from choosing a topic to proofreading the final draft.