It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Methods Information: Home
A comprehensive resource for faculty and students who are teaching and conducting research.
This guideprovides pointers for getting started with your research study. Whether using qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods, you will find useful resources including links to key licensed library databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content.
If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, don't hesitate to contact the library.
Dr. Judith Jablonski and Erin Richter-Weikum
Presented on October 12, 2017 as part of the Graduate Studies Webinar Series.
While most of the licensed databases in the Trefry Library contain research articles, the databases listed below include a focus on research methods-oriented journals and sources. For a complete list of licensed databases, see the A-Z List.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes access to the journal Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Theory and research in international affairs, includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
An EBSCO suite database, from the Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. APUS journal holdings are not indicated.
An EBSCO suite database, from the National Library of Medicine, is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. This version of MEDLINE can easily be searched with CINAHL and/or other EBSCO databases.
An EBSCO database of full-text, point-of-care clinical resources for nurses and other health care professionals. Includes drug monographs, research instruments, laboratory tests, and evidence-based care sheets.
From the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations include links to open access content from PubMed Central.
For information on researching, see the Trefry Library's Research@APUS website.
Research methods refers to the practical steps one takes to do/implement a research study (i.e, a quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods investigation). NOTE: Methods is not the same thing as methodology. See Methods vs. Methodology | How Are They Different? on this guide for clarification.
SAGE Video: What Are Reseach Methods?
Hear experts define and discuss the importance of research methods, the building blocks of conducting research.
Posted Feb 4, 2014 | 4:23 min | Transcript available at YouTube site