Skip to main content

Research Methods Information: Mixed Methods Research

A comprehensive resource for faculty and students who are teaching and conducting research.

Mixed Methods Research

What is Mixed Methods Research?


Mixed Methods Research


"Mixed methods research is the type of research in which a researcher or team of  researchers combines elements of qualitative and quantitative approaches (e.g., use of qualitative and quantitative viewpoints, data collection, analysis, inference techniques) for the purpose of breadth and depth of understanding and corroboration."


Timing

Before you select which design you want to use, make sure you consider the timeline of your study, and when you want your strands of qualitative and quantitative research to occur.

  • Concurrent: Qualitative and quantitative data collection happens at the same time.
  • Sequential: The researcher implements the strands in two distinct phases.
  • Multiphase: The researcher does both concurrent and sequential data collection and analysis over a longer period of time.


Mixed Methods Designs

  • Convergent Parallel: Quantitative data collection and analysis and qualitative data collection and analysis occur at the same time and are then compared after the completion of the study.
  • Explanatory Sequential: Quantitative data collection and analysis occurs first, followed by qualitative data collection and analysis.
  • Exploratory Sequential: Qualitative data collection and analysis occurs first, followed by quantitative data collection and analysis.
  • Embedded: Quantitative and qualitative data are collected and analyzed concurrently within a quantitative design (ie experimental) or qualitative design (ie ethnography).
  • Transformative: Qualitative and quantitative data collection and analysis can occur concurrently or sequentially; a transformative design allows the researcher to work within a specific theoretical based framework (ie feminist theory).
  • Multiphase: Separate quantitative and qualitative studies are conducted to gather data before a mixed methods study is conducted.

 


Definition from: Johnson, R. B., Onwuegbuzie, A. J., & Turner, L. A. (2007). Toward a definition of mixed methods research. Journal of Mixed Methods Research, 1(2), 112-133.

Journal of Mixed Methods

The APUS Library has full-text access to the Journal of Mixed Methods Research.  You can find it by following these steps:

  • Make sure you enter the library through your classroom
  • Locate the A-Z Database within the library
  • Click on 'S' and locate SAGE Research Methods: Journal Collection

 

 

  • Type in Journal of Mixed Methods Research

 

Selected Books on Mixed Methods


Selected Books in the APUS Library

 

Web Resources on Mixed Methods

VIDEOS: On Mixed Methods Research

When should I choose a mixed methods approach?

Academic: John W. Creswell Ph.D.
Published: 2011 | Publisher: SAGE Publications | Video Type: Interview | Duration: [00:06:21] Transcript provided.

What has given rise to the interest in mixed methods research today?

Academic: John W. Creswell Ph.D. Published: 2011 | Publisher: SAGE Publications | Video Type: Interview | Duration: [00:04:53] | Transcript Provided