Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
Welcome to the Homeland Security
This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content. If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, don't hesitate to contact the library.
Armed Conflict Database
Comprehensive historical background for armed conflicts worldwide. Users can generate reports and download data as well as browse year-by-year analyses and fact sheets.
Columbia International Affairs Online Journals (CIAO)
Theory and research in international affairs, includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
An EBSCO database cover international security and counter terrorism, includes journals and periodicals, news feeds, reports, summaries and books.
Access to a collection of Jane's military magazines focusing defense and security.
Praeger Security International
Full-text, electronic book resource containing over 600 books on terrorism and security, covering regional security, humanitarian and peace operations, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces, intelligence, military history, defense and national security, and military affairs.
A ProQuest database, covering all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes over journal 600 titles, with more than 415 available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online: Strategic, Defense & Security Studies Collection & Archive Collection
Includes full-text access to Taylor & Francis' Defense & Security Studies Collection of journals.
Homeland Security (MERLN)
MERLN is a consortium of military education research libraries. This is a resource to find full-text documents on disaster preparedness research.
This a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.
This is a searchable database of one of the world's largest library collections of social science literature focused on natural hazards and extreme/catastrophic events.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The HSDL is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include- federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
Monterey WMD Terrorism Database
The Monterey WMD Terrorism Database is the largest open source catalog of worldwide incidents involving the acquisition, possession, threat and use of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) by sub-state actors.
A resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Writing@APUS provides resources for all aspects of the writing process, from choosing a topic to proofreading the final draft.