Librarian
Key Sources
Welcome to the Guns and Gun Control
Topic Guide
This guide provides pointers for getting started with your research on various aspects of the national debate over gun control.. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content. If you would like additional help with your research project, or with learning how to use library resources, don't hesitate to contact us.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowReports on a full range of US political and social-policy issues.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowcovers key journals in the field of criminology, police and policing, forensic sciences, and history of crime. Includes full-text.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new windowsummaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources. Limited full-text, primarily government documents.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowresearch on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes full-text.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowcovers international relations and political science. Includes full text.
Background
You might want to begin your research using the Articles & Databases search box in the middle of the library’s homepage. You can try searching on terms such as the following suggestions:
-
- gun control
- gun laws
- Firearms
- gun rights
- Second Amendment
- handguns
- gun registration
- gun waiting period
-
- handgun control
- illegal firearms
- assault weapons
- gun violence
- school shootings
- mass shootings
- National Rifle Association
- right to bear arms
