*Military History l Program Guide: Civil War

Videos of selected episodes of the PBS program The American Experience.

Digitized documents at the Library of Congress.

Documents covering the entire stretch of US history.

Over 86,922 documents related to the study of the Presidency, including Excutive Orders, proclamations, Saturday radio addresses, inaugural addresses, State of the Union Messages, party convention addressses, party platforms, college commencement addresses, election data, etc.

Collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency, featuring essays about the President's life before, during, and after each presidential term and information about cabinet officials of each administration.

Documents in law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government.

Annotated documents, primary sources, essays, multimedia exhibitions, audio archives, book talks, maps, and images covering all aspects of American history.

Digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers, which provides a personal, geographical and documentary context for the study of slavery in Virginia

Documents, articles, online exhibitions, and podcasts covering major themes in US history.

Political cartoons from contemporary publications and the Library of Congress Collection of American Political Prints, 1766-1876, with explanations of the historical context and images of each cartoon, campaign overviews, biographical sketches, and a review of the era's major issues.

US census data covering literacy, economics, agriculture, and population demographics back to 1790 .

Companion site to the television channel.

Twenty-two journals and 267 books documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Thirteen journals and 10,000 books documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Videos of 104 PBS programs.

Electronic versions of the records, documents, debates, and journals of the Continental Congress, the Continental Convention, and Congress from 1774-1875.

Chronicles the country’s intellectual, moral, and political struggle to end slavery.

Historical manuscripts and published works that portray the lives of African Americans in Massachusetts from the late seventeenth century through the abolition of slavery under the Massachusetts Constitution in the 1780s.

Companion site to the PBS pogram tracing America's journey through slavery through images, documents, stories, biographies, and commentaries.

Digitized documents at the Library of Congress.

First-hand accounts of former slaves' experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms.

Court proceedings and biographies of participants.

Slave narratives, lectures, travel accounts, political tracts, literature, manifestoes, and streaming video.

Podcasts of the public radio program that brings historical perspective to the events happening around us today.

Data on about 150,000 slaves, free people of color, and whites extracted from legislative, county court petitions, wills, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, depositions, and court proceedings.

Over 100 records documenting the Scotts' early case history heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court.

Slave narratives digitized by the University of North Carolina.

Examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in from 1820 - 1850.

Text and images of Black America appearing in Harper's Weekly from 1857-1874.

E-version of the novel along with the proslavery and abolitionist movement responses and contemporary literary reviews, presented in the broader context of antebellum American culture.

Digitized version of the book The Underground Railroad (1898) by Wilbur H. Siebert.

Over 800 orders of battle.

Official history of Marine Corps involvement in the Civil War.

Tucker, Spencer C., ed. The Civil War Naval Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Hinks, Peter, and McKivigan, John, eds. Encyclopedia of Antislavery and Abolition. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.

The Hutchinson Dictionary of American History. Abingdon: Helicon Pub., 2005.

Ritter, Charles F. and Jon L. Wakelyn, Jon L. eds. Leaders of the Civil War: A Biographical and Historical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.

Gilbert, Martin. The Routledge Atlas of American History. London: Routledge, 2006.

Tulloch, Hugh. The Routledge Companion to the American Civil War. London: Routledge, 2006.

Katz-Hyman, Martha B., and Rice, Kym S., eds. World of a Slave: An Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2001.

Palfrey, Francis Winthrop. The Antietam and Fredericksburg. Scituate, MA: Digital Scanning, 2001.

Katcher, Philip R. N. The Army of Northern Virginia: Lee's Army in the American Civil War, 1861-1865. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.

Cist, Henry Martyn. The Army of the Cumberland. Scituate, MA: Digital Scanning, 2001.

Ropes, John Codman. The Army under Pope. Scituate, MA: Digital Scanning, 2001.

McPherson, James M. Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era. New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.

Paris, Louis-Philippe-Albert d'Orléans, comte de. The Battle of Gettysburg: A History of the Civil War in America. Scituate, MA: Digital Scanning, 2001.

Woodworth, Steven E. Decision in the Heartland: The Civil War in the West. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2008.

Feis, William B. Grant's Secret Service: The Intelligence War from Belmont to Appomattox. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 2002.

Bowery, Charles R. Lee & Grant: Profiles in Leadership from the Battlefields of Virginia New York. American Management Association, 2005.

Boritt, Gabor S., ed. Lincoln's Generals. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.

Scheibert, J. (Justus), 1831-1903. A Prussian Observes the American Civil War: The Military Studies of Justus Scheibert. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 2001.

Massive collection of links to military resources.

Digitized monographs and archival material recording the official history of the Army back to the Colonial era, including official histories of the wars, special studies, and Orders of Battle.

Digitzied versions of historical research and contemporary operational history published by the this military hisotry think tank.

carl digital library - digital versions of paper documents from the Combined Arms Research Library collections, which includes obsolete military manuals, student papers, WWII operational documents, and studies by military organizaitons.

Data dating to 1816 about the history of wars and conflict among states and research into the causes of warfare.

Student papers from military schools, reports from DoD-sponsored research, and unclassified military documents and publications.

Daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in the Weider History Group's ten history magazines.

A "news network" dedicated to all things dealing with the discipline of history.

Lectures given at the School for Infantry and Cavalry (now the Command and General Staff College) from 1898-1910, providing interesting statements of Army doctrine in the time frame before World War I.

Student papers, lectures, conference proceedings, personal paper collections, reports and legislation digitzed by military libraries and research institutes.

Companion site to the magazine Military History

Hundreds of digitized official Navy historical publications, documents, and subject presentations (mainly through the Navy Department Library linkhttp://www.history.navy.mil/library/index.htm).

United States. Naval War Records Office

Digitized versions published by this institute which does geostrategic and national security research and analysis.

Digitized reference materials, original works, previously unpublished works, reprints, and special studies on the history of Army medicine.

Articles, documents, and books on the history of the Coast Guard and on individual missions.

"No serious study of the American Civil War is complete without consulting the Official Records. Affectionately known as the "OR", the 128 volumes of the Official Records provide the most comprehensive, authoritative, and voluminous reference on Civil War operations."

Digitized versions of battle maps from ancient to modern times.

"No serious study of the American Civil War is complete without consulting the Official Records. Affectionately known as the "OR", the 128 volumes of the Official Records provide the most comprehensive, authoritative, and voluminous reference on Civil War operations."

United States. Naval War Records Office

Massive collection of links to military resources.

Digitized monographs and archival material recording the official history of the Army back to the Colonial era, including official histories of the wars, special studies, and Orders of Battle.

Digitzied versions of historical research and contemporary operational history published by the this military hisotry think tank.

carl digital library - digital versions of paper documents from the Combined Arms Research Library collections, which includes obsolete military manuals, student papers, WWII operational documents, and studies by military organizaitons.

Student papers from military schools, reports from DoD-sponsored research, and unclassified military documents and publications.

A "news network" dedicated to all things dealing with the discipline of history.

Lectures given at the School for Infantry and Cavalry (now the Command and General Staff College) from 1898-1910, providing interesting statements of Army doctrine in the time frame before World War I.

Student papers, lectures, conference proceedings, personal paper collections, reports and legislation digitzed by military libraries and research institutes.

Hundreds of digitized official Navy historical publications, documents, and subject presentations (mainly through the Navy Department Library linkhttp://www.history.navy.mil/library/index.htm).

Digitized reference materials, original works, previously unpublished works, reprints, and special studies on the history of Army medicine.

Articles, documents, and books on the history of the Coast Guard and on individual missions.

Controversial anti-slavery book published in 1857.

Companion site to the PBS program.