Official Air Force Service History
Official Army Service History
The U.S. Army Center for Military History Online Bookshelf: Vietnam War has online versions of archival material and the official Army histories covering the Vietnam War. Below are selected titles from the collection.
Official Navy Service History
Vietnam War
-
Marine Corps Publications Electronic LibraryAccesses the many official historical monographs covering the Marine Corps’ involvement in the Vietnam War.
-
VietnamFrom 8/01/1998 - present in ProQuest
Selected Reference eBooks for MILH371
-
The Columbia History of the Vietnam WarAnderson, David L. The Columbia History of the Vietnam War. New York: Columbia University Press, 2010.
-
Companion to American Foreign RelationsRobert D. Schulzinger, Robert D. Companion to American Foreign Relations. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003.
-
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military HistoryTucker, Spencer C., ed. Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
-
Historical Dictionary of the 1960sOlson, James S, and Freeman, Samuel. Historical Dictionary of the 1960s. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
-
Historical Dictionary of the 1970sOlson, James S. Historical Dictionary of the 1970s. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
-
Intervention: How American Became Involved in VietnamKahin, George McTurnan. Intervention: How American Became Involved in Vietnam. New York: Knopf, 1986.
-
Into the Quagmire: Lyndon Johnson and the Escalation of the Vietnam WarVanDeMark, Brian. Into the Quagmire: Lyndon Johnson and the Escalation of the Vietnam War. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
-
The Vietnam Experience: A Concise Encyclopedia of American Literature, Songs, and FilmsHillstrom, Kevin. The Vietnam Experience: A Concise Encyclopedia of American Literature, Songs, and Films. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
-
The Vietnam WarWestheider, James E. The Vietnam War. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.
-
U.S. Army Uniforms of the Vietnam WarStanton, Shelby L. U.S. Army Uniforms of the Vietnam War. Harrisburg, PA: Stackpole Books, 1989.
Selected Websites
-
Battlefield VietnamCompanion site to the PBS series.
-
CIA FOIA Special Collections: Vietnam HistoriesDeclassified histories on the CIA's role in Indochina during the Vietnam War.
-
Tonkin Gulf Crisis, August 1964Selected documents, bibliography, and photographs at the Naval History and Heritage Command.
-
Vietnam OnlineCompanion site to the PBS series Vietnam: A Television History
Research Centers
Subject Guide
Bibliographies
Official Marine Corps Service History
The official Marine Corps histories published by the U.S. Marine Corps History Division are available in the Marine Corps Publications Electronic Library. Below are selected titles covering Vietnam. Search the publication library for all of the Vietnam titles.