Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Four examples of linear correlation: no correlation, strong correlation, strongest negative correlation, strongest positive correlation.
Linear Regression Books
Applied Linear Regression by
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
This book is thoroughly updated to help students master the theory and applications of linear regression modeling. Focusing on model building, assessing fit and reliability, and drawing conclusions, the text demonstrates how to develop estimation, confidence, and testing procedures primarily through the use of least squares regression. To facilitate quick learning, this Third Edition stresses using graphical methods to find appropriate models and to better understand them. In that spirit, most analyses and homework problems use graphs for the discovery of structure as well as for the summarization of results. This text is an excellent tool for learning how to use linear regression analysis techniques to solve and gain insight into real-life problems.
Applied Regression Analysis by
Publication Date: 1998
Least squares estimation, when used appropriately, is a powerful research tool. A deeper understanding of the regression concepts is essential for achieving optimal benefits from a least squares analysis. This book builds on the fundamentals of statistical methods and provides appropriate concepts that will allow a scientist to use least squares as an effective research tool. Applied Regression Analysis is aimed at the scientist who wishes to gain a working knowledge of regression analysis. The basic purpose of this book is to develop an understanding of least squares and related statistical methods without becoming excessively mathematical. It is the outgrowth of more than 30 years of consulting experience with scientists and many years of teaching an applied regression course to graduate students. Applied Regression Analysis serves as an excellent text for a service course on regression for non-statisticians and as a reference for researchers. It also provides a bridge between a two-semester introduction to statistical methods and a thoeretical linear models course. Applied Regression Analysis emphasizes the concepts and the analysis of data sets. It provides a review of the key concepts in simple linear regression, matrix operations, and multiple regression. Methods and criteria for selecting regression variables and geometric interpretations are discussed. Polynomial, trigonometric, analysis of variance, nonlinear, time series, logistic, random effects, and mixed effects models are also discussed. Detailed case studies and exercises based on real data sets are used to reinforce the concepts. The data sets used in the book are available on the Internet.
Handbook of Regression Analysis by
Publication Date: 2013-01-03
Written by two established experts in the field, the purpose of the Handbook of Regression Analysis is to provide a practical, one-stop reference on regression analysis. The focus is on the tools that both practitioners and researchers use in real life. It is intended to be a comprehensive collection of the theory, methods, and applications of regression methods, but it has been deliberately written at an accessible level. The handbook provides a quick and convenient reference or "refresher" on ideas and methods that are useful for the effective analysis of data and its resulting interpretations. Students can use the book as an introduction to and/or summary of key concepts in regression and related course work (including linear, binary logistic, multinomial logistic, count, and nonlinear regression models). Theory underlying the methodology is presented when it advances conceptual understanding and is always supplemented by hands-on examples.
Linear Algebra and Linear Models by
Publication Date: 2000
The main purpose of this book is to provide a rigorous introduction to the basic aspects of the theory of linear estimation and hypothesis testing. The necessary prerequisites in matrices, multivariate normal distribution and distributions of quadratic forms are developed along the way. The book is aimed at advanced undergraduate and first-year graduate masters students taking courses in linear algebra, linear models, multivariate analysis, and design of experiments. It should also be of use to research mathematicians and statisticians as a source of standard results and problems.
Linear Mixed Models for Longitudinal Data by
Publication Date: 2008-01-27
This book provides a comprehensive treatment of linear mixed models for continuous longitudinal data. Next to model formulation, this edition puts major emphasis on exploratory data analysis for all aspects of the model, such as the marginal model, subject-specific profiles, and residual covariance structure. Further, model diagnostics and missing data receive extensive treatment. Sensitivity analysis for incomplete data is given a prominent place. Most analyses were done with the MIXED procedure of the SAS software package, but the data analyses are presented in a software-independent fashion.
Linear Models: a Mean Model Approach by
Publication Date: 1996-10-09
Linear Models examines the subject from a mean model perspective, defining simple and easy-to-learn rules for building mean models, regression models, mean vectors, covariance matrices and sums of squares matrices for balanced and unbalanced data sets. The author includes both applied and theoretical discussions of the multivariate normal distribution, quadratic forms, maximum likelihood estimation, less than full rank models, and general mixed models. The mean model is used to bring all of these topics together in a coherent presentation of linear model theory. Contains fully worked examples which follow the theorem/proof presentation.
Linear Models: an Integrated Approach by
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
This book aims to provide a clear and deep understanding of the general linear model using simple statistical ideas. Elegant geometric arguments are also invoked as needed and a review of vector spaces and matrices is provided to make the treatment self-contained. Complex, matrix-algebraic methods, such as those used in the rank-deficient case, are replaced by statistical proofs that are more transparent and that show the parallels with the simple linear model.
Linear Models: Least Squares and Alternatives by
Publication Date: 1999-07-30
Provides an up-to-date account of the theory & applications of linear models. It can be used as a text for courses in statistics at the graduate level as well as an accompanying text for other courses in which linear models play a part. Presents a unified theory of inference from linear models with minimal assumptions, not only through least squares theory, but also using alternative methods of estimation & testing based on convex loss functions & general estimating equations.
Linear Regression Analysis by
Publication Date: 2009-06-05
This volume presents in detail the fundamental theories of linear regression analysis and diagnosis, as well as the relevant statistical computing techniques so that readers are able to actually model the data using the methods and techniques described in the book. It covers the fundamental theories in linear regression analysis and is extremely useful for future research in this area. The examples of regression analysis using the Statistical Application System (SAS) are also included.
Log-Linear Modeling by
Publication Date: 2013-01-14
An easily accessible introduction to log-linear modeling for non-statisticians highlighting advances that have lent to the topic's distinct, coherent methodology over the past decade, this book provides an essential, introductory treatment of the subject, featuring many new and advanced log-linear methods, models, and applications. The book begins with basic coverage of categorical data, and goes on to describe the basics of hierarchical log-linear models as well as decomposing effects in cross-classifications and goodness-of-fit tests. Additional topics include: the generalized linear model (GLM) along with popular methods of coding such as effect coding and dummy coding Parameter interpretation and how to ensure that the parameters reflect the hypotheses being studied Symmetry, rater agreement, homogeneity of association, logistic regression, and reduced designs models.
Log-Linear Models and Logistic Regression by
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
The book explores topics such as logistic discrimination and generalised linear models, and builds upon the relationships between these basic models for continuous data and the analogous log-linear and logistic regression models for discrete data. It also carefully examines the differences in model interpretations and evaluations that occur due to the discrete nature of the data. Sample commands are given for analyses in SAS, BMFP, and GLIM, while numerous data sets from fields as diverse as engineering, education, sociology, and medicine are used to illustrate procedures and provide exercises.
Matrix Algebra from a Statistician's Perspective by
Publication Date: 1997
A knowledge of matrix algebra is a prerequisite for the study of much of modern statistics, especially the areas of linear statistical models and multivariate statistics. This reference book provides the background in matrix algebra necessary to do research and understand the results in these areas. Essentially self-contained, the book is best-suited for a reader who has had some previous exposure to matrices. Solultions to the exercises are available in the author's "Matrix Algebra: Exercises and Solutions."
Methods and Applications of Linear Models : Regression and the Analysis of Variance by
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
A popular statistical text now updated and improved. The ready availability of high-speed computers and statistical software encourages the analysis of ever larger and more complex problems while at the same time increasing the likelihood of improper usage. That is why it is increasingly important to educate end users in the correct interpretation of the methodologies involved. Now in its second edition, Methods and Applications of Linear Models: Regression and the Analysis of Variance seeks to more effectively address the analysis of such models through several important changes.
Modeling and Interpreting Interactive Hypotheses in Regression Analysis by
Publication Date: 2009-09-23
Social scientists study complex phenomena about which they often propose intricate hypotheses tested with linear-interactive or multiplicative terms. While interaction terms are hardly new to social science research, researchers have yet to develop a common methodology for using and interpreting them. Modeling and Interpreting Interactive Hypotheses in Regression Analysis provides step-by-step guidance on how to connect substantive theories to statistical models and how to interpret and present the results.
Multiple Regression with Discrete Dependent Variables by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Preface. 1. Introduction to Regression Modeling. 2. Regression with a Dichotomous Dependent Variable. 3. Regression with a Polytomous Dependent Variable. 4. Regression with an Ordinal Dependent Variable. 5. Regression with a Count Dependent Variable. Appendix A: Description of Data Sets. Appendix B: Logarithms. Glossary
Regression Analysis by
Publication Date: 2006
Regression Analysis provides complete coverage of the classical methods of statistical analysis. It is designed to give students an understanding of the purpose of statistical analyses, to allow the student to determine, at least to some degree, the correct type of statistical analyses to be performed in a given situation, and have some appreciation of what constitutes good experimental design. Examples and exercises contain real data and graphical illustration for ease of interpretation Outputs from SAS 7, SPSS 7, Excel, and Minitab are used for illustration, but any major statistical software package will work equally well
Linear Regression Tutorials and Help