Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Waiting Line Models and Systems
Waiting For a Train
Train station platforms at Kowloon Tong Station (East Rail Line) from Wikimedia Commons. View another image here.
Waiting Line Models and Systems Books
Difference and Differential Equations with Applications in Queueing Theory by
Publication Date: 2013
A Useful Guide to the Interrelated Areas of Differential Equations, Difference Equations, and Queueing Models Difference and Differential Equations with Applications in Queueing Theory presents the unique connections between the methods and applications of differential equations, difference equations, and Markovian queues. Featuring a comprehensive collection of topics that are used in stochastic processes, particularly in queueing theory, the book thoroughly discusses the relationship to systems of linear differential difference equations. The book demonstrates the applicability that queueing theory has in a variety of fields including telecommunications, traffic engineering, computing, and the design of factories, shops, offices, and hospitals. Along with the needed prerequisite fundamentals in probability, statistics, and Laplace transform, Difference and Differential Equations with Applications in Queueing Theory provides: A discussion on splitting, delayed-service, and delayed feedback for single-server, multiple-server, parallel, and series queue models Applications in queue models whose solutions require differential difference equations and generating function methods Exercises at the end of each chapter along with select answers The book is an excellent resource for researchers and practitioners in applied mathematics, operations research, engineering, and industrial engineering, as well as a useful text for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in applied mathematics, differential and difference equations, queueing theory, probability, and stochastic processes.
Stochastic Models in Queueing Theory by
Publication Date: 2002
This is a graduate level textbook that covers the fundamental topics in queuing theory. The book has a broad coverage of methods to calculate important probabilities, and gives attention to proving the general theorems. It includes many recent topics, such as server-vacation models, diffusion approximations and optimal operating policies, and more about bulk-arrival and bull-service models than other general texts.
Fuzzy Control of Queuing Systems by
Publication Date: 2004-10-21
Not only the visible queues in traffic jams, airport check in desks and supermarkets, but the more common invisible queues caused by voice calls and data packets in optical and wireless channels cost time, money and resources. Queuing control plays a crucial role in manufacturing and communication networks around the world. This pioneering approach, using fuzzy control to solve queuing control problems, determines explicit solutions to various types of control in queuing systems. Twenty-one detailed case studies demonstrate an efficient departure from classical techniques and existing practical problems, especially those that are unresponsive to conventional control techniques, are solved with the introduction of this novel approach.
Queueing Theory for Telecommunications by
Publication Date: 2010
Queueing theory applications can be discovered in many walks of life including; transportation,manufacturing, telecommunications, computer systems and more. However, the most prevalentapplications of queueing theory are in the telecommunications field. Queueing Theory for Telecommunications: Discrete Time Modelling of a Single Node System focuses on discrete time modeling and illustrates that most queueing systems encountered in real life can be set up as a Markov chain. This feature is very unique because the models are set in such a way that matrix-analytic methods are used to analyze them. Queueing Theory for Telecommunications: Discrete Time Modelling of a Single Node System is the most relevant book available on queueing models designed for applications to telecommunications. This book presents clear concise theories behind how to model and analyze key single node queues in discrete time using special tools that were presented in the second chapter. The text also delves into the types of single node queues that are very frequently encountered in telecommunication systems modeling, and provides simple methods for analyzing them. Where appropriate, alternative analysis methods are also presented. This book is for advanced-level students and researchers concentrating on engineering, computer science and mathematics as a secondary text or reference book. Professionals who work in the related industries of telecommunications, industrial engineering and communications engineering will find this book useful as well.
Queueing Theory with Applications to Packet Telecommunication by
Publication Date: 2004-11-09
This book is an efficient introduction to fundamental concepts and principles underlying the behavior of queueing systems and its application to the design of packet-oriented electrical communication systems. Key features of communication systems, such as correlation in packet arrival processes at IP switches and variability in service rates due to fading wireless links are introduced. Numerous exercises embedded within the text and problems at the end of certain chapters that integrate lessons learned across multiple sections are also included.
Distributions in Stochastic Network Models by
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
This monograph presents important research results in the areas of queuing theory, risk theory, graph theory and reliability theory.
Fundamentals of Stochastic Networks by
Publication Date: 2011
An interdisciplinary approach to understanding queueing andgraphical networks In today's era of interdisciplinary studies and researchactivities, network models are becoming increasingly important invarious areas where they have not regularly been used. Combiningtechniques from stochastic processes and graph theory to analyzethe behavior of networks, Fundamentals of StochasticNetworks provides an interdisciplinary approach by includingpractical applications of these stochastic networks in variousfields of study, from engineering and operations management tocommunications and the physical sciences. The author uniquely unites different types of stochastic,queueing, and graphical networks that are typically studiedindependently of each other. With balanced coverage, the book isorganized into three succinct parts: Part I introduces basic concepts in probability and stochasticprocesses, with coverage on counting, Poisson, renewal, and Markovprocesses Part II addresses basic queueing theory, with a focus onMarkovian queueing systems and also explores advanced queueingtheory, queueing networks, and approximations of queueingnetworks Part III focuses on graphical models, presenting an introductionto graph theory along with Bayesian, Boolean, and randomnetworks The author presents the material in a self-contained style thathelps readers apply the presented methods and techniques to scienceand engineering applications. Numerous practical examples are alsoprovided throughout, including all related mathematicaldetails. Featuring basic results without heavy emphasis on provingtheorems, Fundamentals of Stochastic Networks is a suitablebook for courses on probability and stochastic networks, stochasticnetwork calculus, and stochastic network optimization at theupper-undergraduate and graduate levels. The book also serves as areference for researchers and network professionals who would liketo learn more about the general principles of stochasticnetworks.
Performance Analysis of Telecommunications and Local Area Networks by
Publication Date: 2006-04-18
Performance Analysis of Telecommunications and Local Area Networks presents information on teletraffic engineering, with emphasis on modeling techniques, queuing theory, and performance analysis for the public-switched telephone network and computer communication networks. Coverage includes twisted pair cables and coaxial cables, subscriber loops, multistage network switching, modeling techniques for traffic flow and service time, random access networks, and much more. End-of-chapter problems with solutions are also included.
Stochastic-Process Limits by
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
This book emphasizes the continuous-mapping approach to obtain new stochastic-process limits from previously established stochastic-process limits. The continuous-mapping approach is applied to obtain heavy-traffic-stochastic-process limits for queueing models, including the case in which there are unmatched jumps in the limit process. These heavy-traffic limits generate simple approximations for complicated queueing processes and they reveal the impact of variability upon queueing performance.
Waiting in Line (Non-Mathematical)
The Science and Psychology of Waiting in Line
By Pete Abilla, on the Customer Experience, eCommerce Operations, The Toyota Production System / Lean Manufacturing, Six Sigma, Queueing Theory, Operations Management, and more.
Queueing Theory by R-bloggers
R news and tutorials contributed by (452) R bloggers.
Queueing Theory News Page
Information on Queueing Theory collected by Dr. Myron Hlynka, of the University of Windsor, in Windsor, Ontario, Canada.