The complete APA style guide (a.k.a., the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition) is currently not available in an institutional version from its publisher. This means we cannot license it for student use.

You are free to purchase your own copies of the complete APA style guide directly from the American Psychological Association or from the bookseller of your choice.(Available in print or Kindle only (no Nook). Kindle eReader not required. Amazon provides free Kindle reading apps for tablet, smartphone, or computer.)

Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using APA style.

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

NOTE: For direct help from the APA style editors, see either of these resources:

• The APA Style Blog
• Formatting your research paper in APA style (from the APA Style editors).
  • Sample papers in APA Format (from the APA Style editors).
• The official Facebook page for the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, "a resource guide of writing rules collectively known as APA Style" (from the FB About page).

All APUS faculty and students have access to The Bluebook Online 

Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using Bluebook style.

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

For additional information, see the Writing & Citing page of the Legal Studies & Paralegal Studies | Program Guide.

All APUS faculty and students have access to the official Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMS or CMOS).

Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using Chicago style.

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

For additional guidance from the University of Chicago Press editors, see these links:

• The CMOS Shop Talk blog
• The Chicago Style Q&A
  • You can also access this from inside the APUS licensed CMS via the link above.

The complete MLA style guide (a.k.a., the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, Edition 8) is currently only available in print format (with website access after purchase). There are no Kindle or Nook or other eBook versions at this time.

Because the official MLA style guide is not available in an institutional version from the publishers we cannot license it for student use. You are free to purchase your own copies of the complete MLA style guide directly from the Modern Language Association or from the bookseller of your choice.

Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using MLA style.

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

NOTE: For direct help from the MLA style editors, see these resources:

• The Ask the MLA FAQ page
• Formatting a research paper in MLA style. (From the MLA Style Center)

The Turabian style guide (A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th edition) is currently available only in print and in Kindle and Nook formats. (Amazon and B&N/Nook provide free reading apps for tablet, smartphone, or computer.)

NOTE: Turabian is based on the Chicago style. There are minor differences but if you don't have your own copy of Turabian you can check APUS Library's licensed edition of the Chicago Manual of Style Online via this link: http://apus.libguides.com/APUS_ePress/chicago. (APUS login credentials required.)

Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using Turabian style.

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

For additional guidance from the University of Chicago Press editors, see these links:

• The CMOS Shop Talk blog
• The Chicago Style Q&A
  • You can also access this from inside the APUS licensed CMS via the link above.
• Turabian "Quick Guide"

What is Grey Literature?

Grey (or gray) literature refers to published and unpublished research sources that are not typically available commercially. Examples of grey literature are (not a definitive list):

• clinical trials reports
• conference papers/conference proceedings
• fact sheets, bulletins
• government documents
• interviews
• newsletters
• pamphlets
• reports
• surveys
• technical and commercial documentation
• technical specifications and standards
• theses
• translations

Often, the best source of up-to-date research on some topics is grey literature. Most grey literature is free. However some publishers/suppliers will charge for access to their material. Keep in mind: grey literature is typically not subject to peer review. Evaluate the quality of the information carefully.

Locating grey literature

Locating grey literature and searching it systematically can be difficult.The Cornell Universityy Library suggests the following:

• Search databases that specialize in grey literature. See the list below for some options.
   
• Check conference proceedings. Identify professional organizations that have conferences where researchers might present on your topic.
  FAQ: How do I find conference proceedings?
  FAQ: How do I find a source from a professional organization or association?
   
• Search theses and dissertations
  FAQ: Does the library provide access to theses and dissertations?
  FAQ: I need a specific thesis or dissertation from another university. How can I get it?
   
• Look for government agencies, and international and non-governmental organizations. These grounds often publish technical papers and reports on your topic. Search their websites for publications or online libraries that they may provide. 
  FAQ: How can I find U.S. government information?
   
• Contact known researchers in the field. These people may know of ongoing or unpublished studies. To locate researchers
  • Look for their contact information in the author section of published articles.
  • Search their names on Google and look for their current academic or professional affiliation information.
    NOTE: In writing to researchers, make sure your request is professionally written and to the point. Keep in mind that they may be busy and not reply right away.

See also:

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health. (2013). Grey Matters: a practical search tool for evidence-based medicine.

Online Resources:

Non-Traditional Research Sources

• Blogs
• Wikis
• Podcasts
• Infographics
• Digital humanities projects

How to locate non-traditional research sources

Because the authors of these resources are scholars, locating their non-traditional work is a good job for Google.Here are some approaches:

• Search the author's name and locate their info/directory page on their university or organization website. Check their page for a link to an identified blog or podcast or other non-traditoinal project or the like.
• Search the author's name with the words "blog" or "podcast," etc. E.g. neil degrasse tyson podcast or emily lakdawalla blog
• If you know the person is contributing to a podcast, or blog, or digital project, etc. contact them directly and request the URL or other information.

NOTE: In writing to researchers, make sure your request is professionally written and to the point. Keep in mind that they may be busy and not reply right away.

Everyday Sources

• Newspaper articles
• Magazine articles
• Popular blogs
• Conversations with friends, family, and coworkers
• Online videos
• Political satire (articles, videos, etc.)
• Social media posts

Finding everyday sources will vary depending on the source type. Newspaper and magazine articles can be found in formal information databases but also in one's grocery store, pharmacy, or local bookstore. These FAQs from the Trefry Library explain how to search for newspaper and magazine sources:

• How do I search for newspaper articles?
• Where can I go to see if we have a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
• How do I find a "popular" article?

Use Google to locate blogs and online videos. Video services such as YouTube and Vimeo. Blogs can be found by searching Google for "topic" and blog or via the various blog-providing services such as Blogger, Wordpress, Tumblr, and Twitter (a micro-blogging site). Social media posts can be found on many sites such as Facebook, Instagram, Tumbler, and Twitter.

Caution: One special challenge to using everyday sources in one's academic papers is how to cite them correctly. Most style guides have instructions for how to handle these informal source types.

Outlining

What is a Position Paper?

A position paper is an essay or paper in which the writer chooses an opinion or position about an issue and writes in support of it. The goal of a position essay to to persuade or convince the reader that your opinion is a valid one.

After choosing your topic, you may need help with choosing good search terms and locating peer-reviewed/scholarly articles for your essay. These FAQs will provide the guidance you need!

• General info on your topic: I need some background information on my topic. Where should I look?
• Choosing good search terms: How can I pick the best keywords to use when researching my topic?
• Finding a good database for your topic: I don't know which databases are best for my research topic. Where should I start searching?
• Finding info on opposing views: I need to find opposing viewpoints on a controversial issue. Do you have any tips?

Need help? Contact the librarians! Info here: I need help with the library. How can I contact a librarian?

FAQs on locating sources for this assignment:

Selected Books on Critical Thinking & Persuasive Writing

What is an analytical essay? 

Analytical writing is a type of writing used in the academic setting. Its purpose is to show the relationship(s) among elements of information. This is done by presenting evidence from multiple sources in a logical structure of main ideas that they show their relation to each other.

Analytical writing is used to compare and contrast or assess and evaluate intellectual approaches, theories, methodologies, study outcomes, etc. Analytical writing addresses (but is not limited to):

Sources

• Assessment: Evaluates the credibility/authoritativeness of source/evidence.
• Interpretation: Utilizes a text/source for the purpose of understanding what the author means.
• Multiple Sources of Evidence: Demonstrates knowledge of topic as expressed in range of sources containing different facts, theories, and viewpoints.

Analysis

• Association: Identifies relationships between individual ideas/information.
• Comparison: Compares and contrasts ideas and/or evidence.
• Synthesis: Makes clear and logical connections between information sources that inform own discussion.
   

Application: Transfers one’s learning and understanding and uses it in developing one’s own ideas.

Justification: Uses judgment in developing one’s arguments, inferences, implications, and drawing one’s own conclusions.

Structure: Constructs a well-ordered, logical discussion with main points and their supporting points (and, if applicable, supporting original data).

Objectivity: Presents source information and own discussion in an unbiased, dispassionate manner.
 

What analytical writing is not:

While analytical writing lets you demonstrate that you have interpreted the research material (i.e., you have your own take on things).

• It does not involve taking a clear position or stand on the material.
• It does not involve judging the material.
• It does not involve trying to persuade your readers.

Analytical writing is informative writing not persuasive writing.

From: Mastering Analytical Writing  from the Graduate Writing section of Writing@APUS.

FAQs on locating sources for this assignment:

Writing Effective Sentences

Paragraph Writing

Writing with Style

The "Writing with Style" section of the Writer's Reference Center database has extensive information on how to make your writing polished, professional, and readable. Covered are:

• What Is Style?
• Beyond Correctness
• The Qualities of Style
• Choosing Words
• Constructing Sentences (links above)
• Constructing Paragraphs
• Using Figurative Language
• Choosing a Style *
• Expressing Tone through Words

* "Style" in this context does not refer to the MLA style guide! MLA style refers to editorial and documentation methods. Writing style refers to the way your writing is created to suit a specific context, purpose, or audience.