Resources for Business Writing
What is Business Writing?
What is business writing?
"The term business writing refers to memorandums, reports, proposals, emails, and other forms of writing used in organizations to communicate with internal or external audiences. Business writing is a type of professional communication. Also known as business communication and professional writing."
[From AboutEducation.com, "Glossary of Grammatical and Rhetorical Terms"]
Find Writing Assistance
- Writing@APUSThe APUS Library’s writing reference resource for students and faculty designed to supplement and complement writing instruction delivered across all disciplines.
- Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOnline reference for writers, with learning tools to write and research effectively.
- Tutor.com
Get started using Tutor.com, tutoring help for APUS students.
Business Communication Tools | Entrepreneurship | Program Guide:
- Entrepreneurship | Program Guide: Business Communication ToolsExtensive resources that include eBooks and info on business plans, marketing plans, multimedia and presentations, proposal writing, and social media.
Selected Databases for Business Communication
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database, coverage for over 3,535 business economics, finance, human resources, and management publications, with more than 2,495 available in full-text. Includes company and executive profiles, dissertations and theses, industry reports, country profiles, and working papers.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO database, providing indexing and abstracts for the scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and exportable company information data. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIn-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Includes topic pages and mind maps to visually show relationships.
- EBSCO Database Suite This link opens in a new windowFor easy access to the library's suite of EBSCOhost databases.
- ProQuest Database Suite This link opens in a new windowSearch the library's complete suite of ProQuest databases.
Selected Books on Business Writing
A Practical Guide to Business Writing: Writing In English For Non-Native Speakers by Publication Date: 2012-12-18Offers sensible, valuable and helpful rules for producing effective short reports, memos, letters and e-mails that are clear, concise and easy to read for the busy manager or supervisor working in the demanding setting of modern industry or commerce.
Open Web Books on Business & Technical Writing
- Business Communication for SuccessBy Scott McLean. A free online textbook from the Saylor Foundation. Provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
- Online Technical WritingBy David McMurrey.
Web Resources on Business Writing
Web Articles
- 8 Keys To Better Business Writing | ForbesBy Susan Adams. January 18, 2013.
- Improve Your Business Writing With These 12 Tools | ForbesBy Drew Hendricks. November 25, 2103.
- Tools, Tips, and Tricks for Improved Business Writing | BplansBy Robert Morris. January 19, 2016.
Associations & Organizations
- Association for Business Communication[From ABOUT ABC page] "The Association for Business Communication (ABC) is an international, interdisciplinary organization committed to advancing business communication research, education, and practice."
- The International Association of Business Communicators[From the websit] "The International Association of Business Communicators provides a professional network of about 15,000 business communication professionals in over 80 countries."
- Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW)Sponsored by the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University.
Find Articles & Journals in the Library
- Library Search This link opens in a new windowA discovery search tool that will search most of the library's collection, including journal articles. Use the filters on the results screen to restrict your results to articles only. Learn How.
- Library Search: Journal Titles This link opens in a new windowSearch by title or ISBN number to access specific full-text journals available in the library's collection. Learn How.
- FAQ: How can I explore our library's journals by subject?Explains how to use Primo to browse journals by subject.