Books & eBooks Resources
Find Books in the Library
- Library Search This link opens in a new windowA discovery search tool that will search most of the library's collection. Use the limits on the results screen to restrict your results, including ebooks. (Search specific licensed library databases instead.)
- FAQ: How do I search for books in the APUS library?Explains how to find books using Primo.
FAQs: Books
General Queries
Locating & Using APUS Library Books
Textbook Questions
Reference Books (Good for Background Information on a Topic)
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Publication Date: 2004-06-03From the publisher: "Containing over 1,000 of the most troublesome literary terms encountered by students and general readers, this gem of a book gives clear and often witty explanations to terms such as hypertext, multi-accentuality, and postmodernism."
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature by Publication Date: 2004From the publisher: "Hundreds of informative A-to-Z entries cover a wide range of works and writers from around the world, as well as a range of genres, including novels, short stories, poetry, plays, and criticism."
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by Publication Date: 1997-02-01From the publisher: "A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies."
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by Publication Date: 1990From the publisher: "In ninety essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers both traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, and also newer topics such as the production and reception of literature."
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by Publication Date: 2011From the publisher: "Offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works."
Student Encyclopedia of African Literature by Publication Date: 2007-12-01From the publisher: "Included are nearly 600 alphabetically arranged entries on authors, such as Chinua Achebe, Athol Fugard, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, and Wole Soyinka; major works, such as Things Fall Apart and Petals of Blood; and individual genres, such as the novel, drama, and poetry."
Free Online Book Collections
- The Complete Works of William ShakespeareThe Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.
- Google BooksUse the limiters to narrow to free books or books with limited previews.
- The Internet Archive: Text ArchiveThe Internet Archive is designed to provide permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format.
- The Internet Classics ArchiveSelect from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
- Just Free BooksJustFreeBooks is a search engine that searches the content of more than 700 web sites, including gutenberg.org, wikibooks.org and archive.org. With JustFreeBooks you can find public domain texts, open books, free audio books, ad-supported books and more.
- Lit2GoLit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format.
- Luminarium: Anthology of English LiteratureMedieval, Renaissance, 17th Century and Restoration and 18th Century literary texts. Entries for each author include: works, biography, criticism, quotations and links. Texts are from The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 6th ed.
- Perseus Digital LibraryAn evolving humanities digital library.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
- LibriVoxLibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain.
Interlibrary Loan
When a needed article or book isn't available.
Credo Reference: Literature search box
Credo Reference: Encyclopedias search box