Technical Writing Resources
What is Technical Writing?
What is technical writing?
"Technical writing is a type of writing where the author is writing about a particular subject that requires direction, instruction, or explanation. This style of writing has a very different purpose and different characteristics than other writing styles such as creative writing, academic writing or business writing."
[From YourDictionary.com, "Definition of Technical Writing"]
How is technical writing different from business writing?
There can be some overlap between technical writing and business writing, depending on the setting in which it occurs. Usually, though, business writing focuses on the administrative and work/task/meeting issues while technical writing targets the practical how-to or expository information needs. Examples of technical writing include product user manuals, assembly guides,scientific papers, medical research, product or information brochures, employee, faculty and student handbooks, and white papers.
Find Writing Assistance
- Writing@APUSThe APUS Library’s writing reference resource for students and faculty designed to supplement and complement writing instruction delivered across all disciplines.
- Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOnline reference for writers, with learning tools to write and research effectively.
- Tutor.com
Get started using Tutor.com, tutoring help for APUS students.
Selected Databases for Technical Writing
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database, coverage for over 3,535 business economics, finance, human resources, and management publications, with more than 2,495 available in full-text. Includes company and executive profiles, dissertations and theses, industry reports, country profiles, and working papers.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO database, providing indexing and abstracts for the scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and exportable company information data. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIn-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Includes topic pages and mind maps to visually show relationships.
- EBSCO Database Suite This link opens in a new windowFor easy access to the library's suite of EBSCOhost databases.
- Career and Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database, offering career and technical/vocational education information. Includes full text.
- ProQuest Database Suite This link opens in a new windowSearch the library's complete suite of ProQuest databases.
- SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database, indexing articles in the technological and natural sciences. Contain full text.
Selected Books on Technical Writing
Engineers' Guide to Technical Writing by ISBN: 0871706938Publication Date: 2001-01-01An engineer with experience in the automotive and chemical process industries, Budinski has compiled material he used to train new engineers and technicians in an attempt to get his co-workers to document their work in a reasonable manner. He does not focus on the mechanics of the English language,
The Insider's Guide to Technical Writing by Publication Date: 2012-05-01Every complex product needs to be explained to its users, and technical writers, also known as technical communicators, are the ones who do that job. A growing field, technical writing requires multiple skills, including an understanding of technology, writing ability, and great people skills.
Readercentric Writing for Digital Media: Theory and Practice by Publication Date: 2014-02-28From the Baywood's Technical Communications Series. Suggests three models: user-centric (usability model), persuasion-centric (encouraging the reader to linger and be persuaded--Canon camera ads), and quality-centric (encouraging the reader to linger and learn or be entertained because of the quality of the writing--NASA.gov and YouTube). Designed for professional writers and writing students..
Writing Power by Publication Date: 2003-07-02Adds to our understanding of the powerful nature of texts and writing.
Web Resources on Technical Writing
Associations & Organizations
- Association for Communication Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Life and Human SciencesAssociation of communication and information technology professionals. Includes publications, membership details, and information about special interest groups.
- Association for Computer Machinery - SIGDOCSpecial Interest Group for DOCumentation, a society of senior communication professionals.
- Association of Teachers of Technical WritingTutorial support for university courses and mailing list. [Requires registration]
- Council for Programs in Technical and Scientific Communication (CPTSC)News, newsletters, and information on conferences and forums.
- Council of Science Editors (CSE)Improve communication in the sciences by educating authors, editors, and publishers through articles, links, resources, publications, and job bank. Formerly Council of Biology Editors (CBE).
- IEEE Professional Communication SocietyTo help engineer and technical communicators develop skills in written and oral presentation.
- Society for Technical CommunicationSTC is a professional association dedicated to the advancement of technical communication, content and information management via technical processes.
- Technical Writers Industry Association IncNon-profit society for technical writers and other professionals involved in the communication of technical information.
Career/Job Information
- Technical Writers: Occupational Outlook HandbookU.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook entry for writers, including significant points, nature of work, working conditions, employment, and salary.
- Technical Writing Is Boring, and 5 Other Misconceptions About This $100K CareerBy Genise Caruso. October 22nd, 2014. Blog post on The Freelancer website.
Careers in Technical Writing
- Technical Writers : Occupational Outlook HandbookFrom the : U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Covered: What Technical Writers Do; Work Environment; How to Become a Technical Writer; Pay, Job Outlook; & State & Area Data.
- Technical Writing Is Boring, and 5 Other Misconceptions About This $100K CareerBlog Post from The Freelancer. 22 Oct 2014.
- Where the Jobs Are in Technical Writing | TechWhirlWeb article by John Paz. 17 April 2013.
Find Articles & Journals in the Library
- Library Search This link opens in a new windowA discovery search tool that will search most of the library's collection, including journal articles. Use the filters on the results screen to restrict your results to articles only. Learn How.
- Library Search: Journal Titles This link opens in a new windowSearch by title or ISBN number to access specific full-text journals available in the library's collection. Learn How.
- FAQ: How can I explore our library's journals by subject?Explains how to use Primo to browse journals by subject.