Skip to Main Content

*English | Program Guide: ENGL200

A guide to online English research for APUS faculty and students.

ENGL200 Resources

Welcome to ENGL200


Welcome to the
ENGL200 Composition and Literature
Resources Page

ENGL200 is designed to focus on critical reading and writing skills. It emphasizes reading and writing by enabling students to experience literature as one of many forms of language and offers effective ways of highlighting reading strategies in a number of different contexts.

This information page provides pointers for getting started with your research. It includes links to key library subscription resources, including article databases, journals, and books, as well as open web content.

If you would like additional help with your research projects, or with learning how to use library resources, contact the librarians at librarian@apus.edu

Find Writing Assistance

ENGL200 Textbook


English200 textbook header

Beginning with the August 2017 session, the ENGL200 readings are located in the classroom under the "Readings & Resources" Link for each week's lesson.

MLA Style

MLA Style cover


ENGL uses the MLA Style Guide.

The complete MLA style guide (a.k.a., the MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition) is currently only available in print format. There are no Kindle or Nook or other eBook versions at this time.

Because the official MLA style guide is not available in an institutional version from the publishers we cannot license it for student use. You are free to purchase your own copies of the complete MLA style guide directly from the Modern Language Association or from the bookseller of your choice.




Go to Writing@APUS to find the information you need on using MLA style.

 

Writing@APUS MLA guide screenshot

 

Not sure how to use a style guide?  Visit The Writing Process at Writing@APUS for tips!

 

Writing@APUS Navigation

Writing@APUS Using Style Guide header

Assignment Help


Getting Started in the APUS Library

Scroll down for a brief "getting started" video, or follow the screenshots to the Getting Started page. On the library's website, hover over ONLINE RESEARCH.  In the menu that drops down, click Getting Started with Research. 
 

Getting started library link


Then, click the icons to learn more about each step of the research process!

getting started icons


Useful Article Databases for ENGL102 Research


Helpful FAQs on searching from our LibAnswers Knowledge Base

To help you organize your research and format your citations, we recommend either of these free tools.

 

Mendeley logoMendeley:  https://www.mendeley.com/.  Watch the video tutorials or visit the help guides to learn more.
 

Zotero logoZotero:  https://www.zotero.org/.  See Zotero's video tutorials here, or browse the user guides.


     Our FAQs:


Short Story/Fiction Definition
Understanding/Reading Short Fiction

Need advice on writing a good thesis statement?
 
Not sure how to write an effective sentence or paragraph?

Understanding/Reading Poetry
 
Need advice on writing a good thesis statement?


How to Watch a Play


Local theater groups often stage and video-record their productions of plays.
To locate them, try searching Google Videos with the following phrases:

  • college production of [name of play]
  • local theater production of [name of play]
  • amateur production of [name of play]

Keep in mind that not all productions will be to your liking! You may prefer Shakespeare done in traditional Renaissance costuming, for instance, or perhaps the quality of the acting doesn't click you with you. Just look for another video!

Here are some sample videos.

  • NOTE: Our Town is for the August 2017 session only. Pygmalion is for sessions Sept 2017 & onward).
  • Transcripts may not be available. Use your classroom copy of the play to follow along.


Shakespeare Resources on this guide:

Searching for information on Shakespeare in the library

To find scholarly articles on The Merchant of Venice try these searches in the library:

  • Shakespeare AND Shylock
  • "character of Shylock"
  • "Merchant of Venice" AND protagonist
  • "Merchant of Venice" AND marriage
  • "Merchant of Venice" AND friendship
  • "Merchant of Venice" AND parents AND obedience

SEARCH HINTS:

  • Type the search examples above exactly as they've been presented! The "  " around the phrase tell the system to search the phrase and not its individual words. The AND is a Boolean operator that tells the system to search for both concepts in the article.
  • Need to limit your search to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles? See the info in this FAQ: How do I find peer reviewed or scholarly articles?


Doing literary research involves using different databases and evaluating the sources you find. These FAQs will help you with that process.

Locating Databases:

Searching Databases:

        Some searching tricks!


Evaluating Your Search Results:


Ethos, Pathos, and Logos


Writing a Literary Essay

Selected Books on Essay-Writing

PODCAST: Start Writing Essays

 

Description from The Open University

Returning to study or starting it for the first time can be daunting. Many students are frightened of writing essays, but it’s a craft that can be learned. This album [of podcasts] will help you to build confidence in all areas of essay writing. A student discusses with two tutors her writing methods and how she adapts her techniques for exams and assignments. With tips shared from Professor Richard Dawkins, TV personality Matthew Kelly, former MP Brian Walden, Baroness Helena Kennedy, journalist John Pilgner and radio presenters John Humphrys and Peter White.

This material forms part of the Open University course A172 Start writing essays.