Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APUS Richard G. Trefry Archives | Home: Featured Exhibit

Dandridge-Surkamp Collection

This collection primarily consists of the personal and professional correspondence, poems, and other assorted materials of West Virginia poet and historian Caroline "Danske" Dandridge (1854-1914). Dandridge was a resident of Shepherdstown, WV, which is near the location of the APUS Headquarters in Charles Town, WV.

She was born Caroline Bedinger in Copenhagen, Denmark the daughter of Henry Bedinger, President James Buchanan's ambassador to Denmark. This is where she gained the nickname, Danske, meaning "Little Dane."

The collection includes letters written by Danske Dandridge to her family members, letters written to Danske Dandridge by her husband, children, other members of her family, friends, editors, and business associates. Also, available in the collection are handwritten copies of her poems and garden articles, and other material related to the Dandridge family.

This collection of material was donated to the APUS University Archives by Jim Surkamp.

Danske Dandridge poem, At the End.

At the End

AT THE END.
BY DANSKE DANDRIDGE

FEARLESSLY, into the Unknown 
Go forth, thou little soul. 
Launch out upon the trackless sea, 
Nor wind nor stars to pilot thee, 
Alone, alone, alone ! 

Thine is a helpless plight. 
Thou canst not turn thy helm, 
Nor reach the harbor any more; 
Thou driftest to an unguessed shore, 
Dark, dark the night. 

Yet launch and take no care; 
For what can care avail? 
In the dark void, the awful space. 
Where wand'rest thou to find thy place, 
Thy God is even there. 

Shepherdstown, W. Va.

Danske Dandridge poem, Golden-rod and Bitter-sweet

Golden-rod and Bitter-sweet, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, Golden-rod and Bitter-sweet

Golden-rod and Bitter-sweet, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, Hope

Hope, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, Hope

Hope, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, Indian Summer

Indian Summer, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, Indian Summer

Indian Summer, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, In Absence

In Absence, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, In Absence

In Absence, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, Late Chrysanthemum

Late Chrysanthemum, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, Late Chrysanthemum

Late Chrysanthemum, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, Late Chrysanthemum

Late Chrysanthemum, Pg. 3

Danske Dandridge poem, The Dead Moon

The Dead Moon, Pg. 1

Danske Dandridge poem, The Dead Moon

The Dead Moon, Pg. 2

Danske Dandridge poem, The Dead Moon

The Dead Moon, Pg. 3

Danske Dandridge poem, The Dead Moon

The Dead Moon, Pg. 4