Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APUS Richard G. Trefry Archives | Home: Welcome

Welcome to the Richard G. Trefry Archives! The home to the University's historical records, collections, photographs, and publications. 

What's New at the Archives

From the Archivist blog post

From the Archivist Blog

Come and explore the latest post from the Archivist detailing the history of the 20 mark note. It is an exploration of how one object can open up a wealth of knowledge about the past.

New featured exhibit of the Dandridge-Surkamp Collecteion

New Featured Exhibit

There is a new featured digital exhibit on display that details some of the Dandridge-Surkamp Collection. The collection was donated by local historian Jim Surkamp and features correspondence and other material related to West Virginia writer Danske Dandridge.

Slide for the Documenting COVID-19 Experiences

Documenting COVID-19 Experiences

The Trefry Archives is looking to hear from you! We are looking for you to submit your experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic so that they can be preserved for future generations to understand what life was like during these historic times.

About the Archives

In addition, we hold collections related to military history, political science, intelligence, and global studies. The collections consist of audio-visual materials, books, journals, manuscripts, maps, and manuals. Please see our Collections Section for a more detailed listing of our holdings. 

The Archives supports the information and research needs of the entire University community and is open to the public by appointment only. Contact the University Archivist to see how they can help you with your research needs. 

Located in Charles Town, WV, American Public University Systems (APUS) founded the University Archives in 2011 as a means of capturing the growth of the University's institutional heritage.  

In 2016, a new Archives facility was dedicated and the name changed to the Richard G. Trefry Archives in honor of Lt. Gen. Richard G. Trefry, USA, Retired, a long-serving member of the University's board.  

LTG Trefry graduated from the United States Military Academy, the Command and General Staff College, and the Army War College. He served as the Inspector General of the United States Army and upon his retirement from the Army, he served in the White House as the Military Assistant to the President of the United States. In 1995, LTG Trefry was named to the Board of Directors of American Military University and then on the Board of Trustees of APUS as a member and committee chair until his retirement from the Board in 2017. Today he still serves as a trustee emeritus at APUS. 

Archivist

Justin McHenry's picture
Justin McHenry
Contact:
111 W. Congress St.
Charles Town, WV 25414
304-724-2832

Archives Information

The Trefry Archives is located in the Academics Building at 330 N. George St., Charles Town, WV 25414. 

You can contact the University Archivist through the Research Request form, by email, or by phone: 304-724-2832.

Archives research hours are Monday-Friday 9:00am-3:00pm EST by appointment only.