Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mission and Collection Development
Trefry Archives Mission
- Appraise, collect, organize, describe, provide access to, and preserve records of historical, legal, fiscal, and administrative value to APUS.
- Serve the information needs of APUS and its community.
- Acquire additional materials in subject areas of importance to the APUS community's research interests.
- Serve research and scholarship needs by making available and encouraging the use of the collection by the APUS community.
- Promote knowledge and understanding of the university’s origin, mission, programs, and goals as they changed and developed over time.
- Implement records management by formulating policies and procedures that will safeguard the corporate heritage and scholarly legacy of APUS.
Collection Development Policy
The comprehensive collection development policy of the Trefry Archives. Provides an overview of donations and the Archives donation guidelines.
Deed of Gift Form
Trefry Archives donation form that provides all of the information needed for donating items.
Collection Development Policy
The Archives seeks to create collections by acquiring university records and related papers. The Archives rely on the cooperation and support of members and friends of the APUS community to ensure that material of historical value is collected and maintained. The collections consist of books, journals, manuscripts, maps, and manuals containing information pertinent to studies in military history, political science, intelligence, and global studies. The Archives seeks to build on current collections.
1. University Records
- Official records, papers, and publications of APUS.
- Correspondence and reports of the Academic, Finance, Office of the President, Operations, Student Services, IT, and Programs & Marketing Divisions
- Minutes, memoranda, and reports of all commissions, councils, and committees including the Board of Directors and Trustees
- Records of the Registrar, including timetables, class schedules, enrollment reports, graduation rosters, and other reports
- Accreditation reports and supporting documentation
- Annual budget and audit reports
- Alumni association and student organizations' records
- Publications printed and/or distributed by APUS
- Maps, prints, and architectural drawings documenting the development of the university
- Photographs, audio visual materials, artifacts, and memorabilia relating to the history of the university
2. Related Records
- Personal and professional papers of alumni, faculty, board members, presidents, and other notable members of the APUS community connected to the operations of the university.
- Any additional material used to support the education and research pursuits of the APUS community.