The Space Race of the 1950s and 1960s defined much of the Cold War that saw an intense competition between the United States and the Soviet Union to dominate space exploration in their attempts to one up one another. From the launch of Sputnik 1 in 1957 to the Apollo 11 moon landing in 1969, this era witnessed the establishment of NASA, numerous groundbreaking missions, and significant advancements in science and technology.
To delve deeper into this historic period, there are a variety of online repositories offering primary sources like mission reports, photographs, and Soviet records, offering a unique perspective on the Space Race. Below you can find a list of online resources to help you discover primary sources centered around the Space Race.
NASA Records
NASA has made a wealth of historical documents, photographs, and mission reports available online. These collections provide firsthand accounts of early space exploration, including the formation of NASA, the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo programs, as well as scientific and engineering documents. The NASA History Office offers access to official reports, oral histories, and other key documents related to NASA's early years. While the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) is a excellent repository of scientific and technical information that includes mission reports, research papers, and technical documentation dating back to the space race era.
The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library
The JFK Library contains many primary sources related to President Kennedy's involvement in space policy, including speeches, correspondence, and other materials related to the decision to go to the Moon. This is an essential archive for understanding the political context of the space race. Also, take the time to check out other presidential libraries like the Eisenhower and LBJ libraries to find even more records related to the space race.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Archives
The Smithsonian Institution offers access to a variety of documents and photographs from the space race, including mission archives and technical drawings of spacecraft. It also houses records from early rocketry pioneers like Wernher von Braun, who played a crucial role in NASA's space missions.
Soviet Space Program Archives
For insight into the Soviet side of the space race, several online resources offer access to declassified Soviet records, photographs, and documentation from missions like Vostok, Voskhod, and Soyuz. In this time of conflict and international intrigue, be very cautious and wary of accessing any Russian based websites, however the National Security Archive at George Washington University provides English-translated, declassified Soviet documents related to space missions and Cold War-era intelligence.
European Space Agency (ESA) Archives
While not directly involved in the U.S.-Soviet space race, ESA's archives can provide additional context through their collection of documents that intersect with early international cooperation in space exploration. These include reports and documents that provide insight into early space missions and Europe’s role in the broader space exploration efforts.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The DPLA provides free, open access to millions of items from U.S. libraries, archives, museums, etc., including many that relate to space exploration. It’s an excellent resource for finding various primary sources from the space race era, from NASA reports to media coverage and public reactions.
To learn more about other space related primary sources, visit this month’s From the Archivist blog that takes a dive into the entirety of the history of space exploration and where you can find primary sources for each era.
0 Comments.